NRCC Announces Third Round of Young Gun Candidates

July 8, 2014

“Young Guns” is the Third and Final Level of the ‘Young Guns’ Program

WASHINGTON – The National Republican Congressional Committee announced today that 11 Republican candidates have reached ‘Young Gun’ status, the top tier of the committee’s three-level recruitment program. These candidates have reached the third and final level by establishing a clear path to victory through their ability to build a formidable campaign structure and achieve important goals and benchmarks.

“Candidates that reach ‘Young Gun’ status have met a series of rigorous goals that will put them in position to win on Election Day,” said NRCC Chairman Greg Walden. “Our job as a committee is to help elect Republicans to office that will serve as a check and balance on the Obama administration. These 11 candidates will fight to stop the harmful consequences of ObamaCare, grow the economy, and get Washington’s spending under control. As the November Elections approach,I am confident that these candidates will continue to work hard for their communities and bring common-sense principles to Congress.”

Originally founded in the 2007-2008 election cycle by Rep. Eric Cantor (R-VA), Rep. Kevin McCarthy (R-CA) and Rep. Paul Ryan (R-WI), the Young Guns program supports and mentors challenger and open-seat candidates in races across the country. Officially an NRCC effort for the past 2 election cycles, the program requires its candidates to work towards specific goals and meet benchmarks throughout the year to ensure their continued participation in the program. In the 2012 election cycle, the program helped to elect 35 new Republican Members to the 113th Congress.

The NRCC’s Third Round of ‘Young Gun’ Candidates are:

  • AR-02    French Hill
  • AR-04    Bruce Westerman
  • IA-01     Rod Blum
  • IA-02     Dr. Mariannette Miller-Meeks
  • IA-03     David Young
  • MT-AL   Ryan Zinke
  • NY-01    Lee Zeldin
  • NY-18    Nan Hayworth
  • NY-21    Elise Stefanik
  • NY-24  John Katko
  • TX-23  Will Hurd

Click here for more information about the program and the candidates.