Nineteen candidates advance in “Young Guns” Program

September 14, 2020

WASHINGTON – House Republican Leader Kevin McCarthy announced today the advancement of sixteen candidates to “Young Gun,” the third and highest level of the program, and three candidates to “Contender” in the committee’s 2020 Young Guns program. The program mentors and supports candidates in races across the country and works to provide them with the necessary tools to run successful, winning campaigns against their Democratic opponents.

“These candidates are gaining serious momentum in their respective races,” said House Republican Leader Kevin McCarthy. “They’re working every single day to fight back against the Democrats’ socialist agenda and their success is critical to ensure we flip the House this November.”

The NRCC’s Young Guns program requires candidates to work towards specific goals and meet benchmarks throughout the election cycle to ensure their campaigns remain competitive, well-funded and communicative within their districts. Candidates progress through three levels of the program: On the Radar, Contender and Young Gun.

You can view the Young Guns website by clicking HERE.

The new additions to the 2020 Young Guns program are as follows:

Young Gun:

(AZ-01) Tiffany Shedd

(FL-07) Leo Valentin

(FL-13) Anna Paulina Luna

(FL-15) Scott Franklin

(GA-07) Rich McCormick

(KS-02) Jake LaTurner

(MI-03) Peter Meijer

(MI-08) Paul Junge

(MI-11) Eric Esshaki

(MN-03) Kendall Qualls

(NC-11) Madison Cawthorn

(NH-01) Matt Mowers

(NJ-03) David Richter

(OK-05) Stephanie Bice

(VA-05) Bob Good

(WI-03) Derrick Van Orden


(NJ-11) Rosemary Becchi

(VA-10) Aliscia Andrews

(WA-08) Jesse Jensen